

# Call: Lelio Orci Award 2023

We are opening the call for nominations for the **Lelio Orci Award 2023**, one of the most prestigious prizes in the life sciences in Switzerland.

**Nominations** – Please send your nominations to <u>info@ls2.ch</u>, including one page maximum (!) with a justification, brief biosketch, statement of major achievements, and list of 3-5 most important publications.

## Deadline to nominate is 8th of August 2023.

**About the award and criteria** - The Lelio Orci Award is awarded by the Lelio Orci Fund, hosted by the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Geneva. It is administered through Life Sciences Switzerland LS<sup>2</sup>. It is awarded annually to a scientist who has achieved an outstanding performance in **fundamental cellular biology**, and who has led his/her **work independently**. The selection of the laureate is **independent of nationality and age**. He/she must have conducted a significant proportion of the work at a Swiss research institution and thus have contributed to the advancement of Swiss Life Sciences. The originality and impact of the work is determined by:

- **High-quality rigorous publications** (publications in high Impact Factor journals is NOT a criterion)
- Original and novel contributions to the field
- Independence of work and ideas
- Importance of work for future development in the field of research

### List of previous laureates:

2022 - Prof. Susan M. Gasser (ISREC Foundation)

2021 - Markus Rüegg (Biozentrum – University of Basel)

2020 - Jean Gruenberg (University of Geneva)

2019 - Silvia Arber (Basel University and FMI)

2018 - Jean-Claude Martinou (University of Geneva)

2017 - Michael Hall (Basel University)

2016 - Markus Aebi (ETHZ)

2015 - Gisou van der Goot (EPFL)

**Jury** - The Jury selects the laureate and proposes him/her to the Lelio Orci Fund Committee. The Jury is constituted by LS<sup>2</sup> and includes: the past-president, vice-president and president of LS<sup>2</sup>; Pierre Cosson, professor at the Geneva Faculty of Medicine, personally appointed member of the Lelio Orci Fund Committee; one additional delegate of the Geneva Faculty of Medicine; at least 3 representatives from other Swiss Academic and Research Institutions.

If you are interested and want to know more, please contact <u>info@ls2.ch</u> or visit our website: https://www.ls2.ch/funding/awards.

We are looking forward to your nominations!



Dear LS<sup>2</sup> Members,

We are opening the call for nominations for the **Lelio Orci Award 2023**, one of the most prestigious prizes in the life sciences in Switzerland.

**Nominations -** please send your nominations to info@ls2.ch, including one page (maximum (!)) justification, brief bio-sketch, statement of major achievements, and a list of 3-5 most important publications.

### The deadline to nominate is the 8th of August 2023.

**About the award and criteria -** The Lelio Orci Award is awarded by the Lelio Orci Fund, hosted by the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Geneva. It is administered through Life Sciences Switzerland LS2. It is awarded annually to a scientist who has achieved outstanding performance in **fundamental cellular biology**, and who has led his/her **work independently**. The selection of the laureate is **independent of nationality and age**. He/she must have conducted a significant proportion of the work at a Swiss research institution and thus have contributed to the advancement of Swiss Life Sciences. The originality and impact of the work are determined by:

- **High-quality rigorous publications** (publications in high Impact Factor journals are NOT a criterion)
- Original and novel contributions to the field
- **Independence** of work and ideas
- Importance of work for future development in the field of research

#### List of previous laureates:

2022 - Prof. Susan M. Gasser (ISREC Foundation)

2021 - Markus Rüegg (Biozentrum – University of Basel)

2020 - Jean Gruenberg (University of Geneva)

2019 - Silvia Arber (Basel University and FMI)

2018 - Jean-Claude Martinou (University of Geneva)

2017 - Michael Hall (Basel University)

2016 - Markus Aebi (ETHZ)

2015 - Gisou van der Goot (EPFL)

**Jury** - The Jury selects the laureate and proposes him/her to the Lelio Orci Fund Committee. The Jury is constituted by LS<sup>2</sup> and includes the past-president, vice-president and president of LS<sup>2</sup>; Pierre Cosson, professor at the Geneva Faculty of Medicine, personally appointed member of the Lelio Orci Fund Committee; one additional delegate of the Geneva Faculty of Medicine; at least 3 representatives from other Swiss Academic and Research Institutions.

If you are interested and want to know more, please contact info@ls2.ch or visit our website: https://www.ls2.ch/funding/awards.

We are looking forward to your nominations! Sincerely,